Guangzhou 2010

The first ever Asian Para Games was held in Guangzhou, China from 13 to 19 December 2010. Previously, it was known as the Far East and South Pacific Games (FESPIC) for the disabled.

Singapore sent a contingent of 48 athletes and officials (24 athletes, 17 officials and 7 secretariats) led by Chef-de-Mission Mr. Henry Tan. Wheelchair racer Mr. Firdaus Bin Nordin was the flag bearer for the games. Singapore competed in 6 out of 19 sports, namely Athletics, Badminton, Boccia, Handcycling, Swimming and Tenpin Bowling.

Singapore won four bronze medals in this first edition, two from Swimming through Ms Theresa Goh in the Women’s 50m Backstroke and 50m Freestyle for S5 class and two came from Tenpin Bowling doubles events; the team of Mr Rex Tan and Mr. Anuar Saaid won bronze in the doubles for TPB8 u0026amp; TPB10, while Mr Thomas Phen and Mr Mohammad Ismail clinched another bronze for doubles for TPB1 u0026amp; TPB3.

The 24 athletes who represented Singapore at the Guangzhou 2010 Asian Para Games were:

  1. Mohammad Firdaus Bin Nordin(Athletics)
  2. Ting Chee Keong, Eric (Athletics)
  3. Choo Leng Hin (Athletics)
  4. Lai Pak Lok (Athletics)
  5. Tay Wei Ming (Badminton)
  6. Nurulasyiqah Binte Mohd Taha (Boccia)
  7. Goh Ta Lang (Boccia)
  8. Ng Pei Feng (Boccia)
  9. Jeralyn Tan Yee Ting (Boccia)
  10. Foo Fung Liang (Handcycling)
  11. Wang Peng Han (Handcycling)
  12. Yip Pin Xiu (Swimming)
  13. Theresa Goh Rui Si (Swimming)
  14. Lim Min-Chieh (Swimming)
  15. James Leow Chen Hai (Swimming)
  16. Emma Dione Schick (Swimming)
  17. Goh Chen Keok (Tenpin Bowling)
  18. Anuar Bin Saaid (Tenpin Bowling)
  19. Mohammad Taufik Bin Ahmadini (Tenpin Bowling)
  20. Rex Tan Swang Hee (Tenpin Bowling)
  21. Low Soon Kia (Tenpin Bowling)
  22. Aishah Binte Ibrahim (Tenpin Bowling)
  23. Mohammad Ismail Bin Hussain (Tenpin Bowling)
  24. Thomas Yong Phen Chong (Tenpin Bowling)